a recliner in the fast lane?

 

Recliner.JPG

On the way home last night after going to 2 birthdays parties, my son and I were in the fast lane. Normally I try and stay out of that particular lane…I tend to be the one that everyone wants to hurry up..I drive more like a little old lady, in that lane for some reason. Yes, there was a recliner sitting, like it had every right, in the fast lane..I didn’t get a chance to notice if it was as stylish as the one up in the photo,  I was too busy trying to miss hitting it…and Thank God there was enough room in the adjoining lane to move over…….

But I was thinking…does this have some sort of cosmic, universal message for me……a recliner in the fast lane….am I going too fast or too slow?

I recently changed positions at my job….I am now the official cook…yes, I volunteered to cook giant pots of spaghetti and then clean up afterward…….it’s like my weird aerobic workout kitchen style………anyone have any ideas for healthy lunches for 150+ preschoolers? I am all ears and elbow macaroni.

6 Comments

  1. martie said,

    January 18, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Wow – cooking for 150 little ones! You must either be a Saint or totally crazy!! Good for you.

    And, that recliner in the fast lane? I think that is most certainly a sign to slow down. That is certainly a strange sight, and thank goodness you were able to avoid an accident, but something so bizarre I would SERIOUSLY take as a sign!!

  2. jude said,

    January 18, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    if you were going so fast, i would imagne it might have just appeared as a dot.

  3. c|ara said,

    January 18, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Hi chef Laney, I think you have one of the world’s greatest jobs! Good job.

  4. paulahewitt said,

    January 18, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    thats scary – both the recliner in the fast lane, and cooking healthy meals for 150 preschoolers – all the healthy stuff i can think of is messy or timeconsuming(tortillas, mini pizzas, veggie and pasta soup). how about veggie lasagna, risi e bisi (rissoto with ham and peas) ham and salad rolls, panfried chicken strips with greek salad? hamburgers with carrot/appleslaw……. goodluck

  5. whereishenow said,

    January 18, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    isn’t that a country song??? “recliner in the fast lane”

    the school lunches in Japan are completely different from the ones I remember in the states…. here they are simple, healthy and , JAPANESE!!! maybe you could look at some japanese school lunch menus on line and if you can’t find any, I will find some samples for you….I was a cook once, in a mostly vegetarian intentional community in the cascade mountains… we made our bread fresh everyday… served large, delicious filling meals and it was great. I would go back there in a heart beat!!!

    Have you seen the book VEGAN LUNCH BOX??? I wonder if her ideas would carry over to large groups….

  6. January 31, 2009 at 4:06 am

    well, laney, there is never a dull moment, eh? a recliner in the fast lane. that is too funny. cooking for 150 preschoolers? that, i guess, has the potential to be funny. except that i hate cooking . . . let us know how that goes, you brave girl you.


Leave a Reply

