live the questions

 

public domain image found here

I wanted to post something today….I had been thinking of a favorite quote and thought I’d include it.

“Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions”

 Rainer Maria Rilke quotes (Austro-German lyric poet, author of Duino Elegies and Sonnets to Orpheus, 18751926)

a favorite book of mine by Rilke is Letters to a young poet. While reading about him this morning I realized all the letters were written between the ages of 27-33 years of age. wise young man.

 

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Steph said,

    September 29, 2008 at 4:04 am

    There is so much innocence in the image. It was fun exploring the coloring pages. Wonderful quote and very wise words.

  2. Tess said,

    September 30, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    A wonderful quote. I enjoyed daydreaming while scroling through the coloring pages. Thanks for sharing.
    Tess

  3. martie said,

    September 30, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Beautiful post! And while I don’t read Rilke, knowing he was between 27-33 with such thoughts is amazing! A very wise man…

  4. jude said,

    September 30, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    this is good for me today

  5. October 2, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    most days it seems like my life is one big question mark. . . trailed by a gadzillbamillion other little question marks. i do love this quote. glad you shared it.

  6. laura said,

    October 5, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Hi, Laney.
    That quote speaks to the way I have been trying to live my life. Actually, it’s the only way I can live. “I wish I’d known then what I know now.” So much is out of our control. I have 2 BP children, and I’ve been working with autistic children for 8 years. The questions are more important than the questions themselves.
    For about two years I’ve admired your comments on Jude’s blog. I always want to say “Yeah, what Laney said.” I also enjoy your blog.
    Thanks much,
    Laura

  7. laura said,

    October 5, 2008 at 2:02 am

    The questions are more important than the ANSWERS, is what I meant…

  8. October 6, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Thanks for sharing the quote. I’ve been pondering a few questions myself lately.


Leave a Reply

