wonky revisited

Have a little old and a little new stitching to show. The piece above is from last winter, it’s been hanging on my design wall(the livingroom), while I have been trying to figure out what to do with it…..I thought I might join it with some of the crazy warmth squares from the last post, but think it needs to mostly be wool, so that it shrinks evenly, when washed. I think it fits right in with the crazy quilting over at Jude’s flickr group though, so I may go add it in to the mix.

 this piece is for a friend…it’s a surprise..shhh….

the blue is from Jude, and when I went to add the last few hexagons, I couldn’t find the stash of it…..so I had to improvise. I have since found the remaining fabric and had enough to do many more hexagons…..oh well, I think the improvised fabric fit fairly well.

I hope all of you are well, I have been late in responding in kind to others generous visits and comments. I am sorry….please forgive me and I will do better!

7 Comments

  1. clara said,

    September 22, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Crazy and so nice and stylish and fun and fascinating. I’m constantly amazed.

  2. jude said,

    September 22, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    i lone the wool project and i am so glad you have joined us at cqr. good timing for a wool quilting project. finally cooling down here.

  3. cathie said,

    September 22, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Hexagons – I always have a heck of a time trying to piece those buggers. Your felt cqr is coming along. Wool (felt) always adds such a nice “feel” to blocks – even if it’s just a tiny piece. Very nice!

  4. September 23, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I love your wonky quilt. Nice work!

  5. martie said,

    September 26, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    As always – GORGEOUS! You are so talented and I really enjoy looking at your art. My ex-mother-in-law was a fantastic quilter. I have tried on numerous occasions to quilt, but, alas, my talents lie elsewhere! So I will enjoy looking at your quilts.

  6. Tess said,

    September 30, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I like the design elements of your wool quilt. With odd stitching it would be somewhat like what I call a crazy quilt. I see you like Jude also. I am assuming here this is the Jude from spirit cloth and what if. I love those blogs, found them recently myself. I’ve never tried hexagons for fear I would start and never finish because of the hassle of lining them up just right. That piece reminded me of a yo-yo quilt I’ve been wanting to make. Again the hassle stops me.

  7. October 2, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    improvised quilts are the best. i’ve always said that, and you prove it once again.


Leave a Reply

