science fiction thriller

 the leaves are bigger than my head……this one really was trying to take over the world!

Okay, I admit it, I am not always as observant as I need to be…who knows how long I might have gone without noticing the HUGE plant taking over the back half of my backyard….?

I used to have a compost pile, before my husband turned it into a brush pile……the pile of twigs and small tree limbs is almost as tall as I….so it’s been a while since I actually put anything out there to actually compost….. I had some cool squash (Turban and acorn…and maybe pumpkin) that I’d used for decoration and then but them out to enrich the soil. They decided to do what was natural and grow.

Holy cow!, I had no idea a squash leaf could be THAT large. I have a plant growing over the brush pile, onto the chain link fence that is probably 5 feet wide and ten feet long, All watered from the rain. I was so impressed by the resilience of nature….the keep on keepin’ on of Mother Nature. 

Hope you all are well!

4 Comments

  1. paulahewitt said,

    August 14, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    one year we had a pumpkin vine which took over the yard – climbed trees, strangled everything – we ended up with hundreds of pumpkins – the whole neighbourhood ate pumpkins for months. Apparently you can eat the shoots and young leaves like spinach – but we’ve never been hungry enough to be inspired to try them.

  2. jude said,

    August 14, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    i had some dirt dumped to fill in a low spot and squash plants came up out of nowhere. they were taking over until the hail came. now they are just squashed!

  3. August 15, 2008 at 2:05 am

    squash are a favorite here, EVEN THOUGH they are more aggressive than kudzu. i have to admit that i love squash leaves – crazy, i know, but i do – and this one is a beaut.

  4. martie said,

    August 16, 2008 at 10:59 am

    What an unexpected gift from Mother Nature!! True, the leaves were much more impressive than the fruit – but what the heck! My garden consists of 2 tomato plants this year (since I arrived way to late to plan and plant). But they are going to be HUGE – already the plants are taller than I am and the fruit is about the size of a softball. Just starting to turn red. And the best part? They are heirloom so I’ll be able to use the seeds in next years planned veg garden!

    Nice to see you back!!


Leave a Reply

