gardening 101

I didn’t exactly get the gardening gene. I do okay with houseplants. When I was about 15 I attempted a garden in our backyard……peppers, cucumbers and tomatoes.

The tomatoes were the only thing that really took off.

I’m hoping that my offspring will decide to like eating veggies if we grow them ourselves……to my delight and surprise it’s working so far! Nasturtiums and green onions have been deemed “yummy”! Yeah!!

We are still waiting on the watermelon. I didn’t read the package thuroughly enough and realized after my watermelon plants sprouted that they should have been about 4 additional feet apart from one another. Oops! Also, I can’t bring myself to nip off the excess blooms, I’ve been so happy to see those pretty yellow flowers.

Hope all is well in your neck of the woods and your gardens are growing and blooming!

4 Comments

  1. paulahewitt said,

    July 6, 2008 at 6:00 am

    I think kids eat way more veggies if they grow them. Our kids eat all sorts of things now. Ive just bought piles of seeds to get ready for summer!

  2. whereishenow said,

    July 6, 2008 at 7:55 am

    i picked two red tomatoes yesterday… rainy season was so wet that they got a little chewed up by slugs…. isn’t gardening great?????

  3. jude said,

    July 7, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    rabbits just cleaned me out of most everything.

  4. Acey said,

    July 7, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Have been gardening forever in this lifetime – perhaps that’s why I like vegetables well enough to maintain a vegan lifestyle. I have never grown watermelons (or pumpkins) properly because I can’t stand taking off the flowers. It doesn’t seem to be as mandatory with mini-pumpkins or miniature melons …


Leave a Reply

