Where has the time gone?

I am sorry it’s taken me so long to post, I’ve been a little down in the mouth, as they say. Sometimes when I feel like that, I’m not sure what I have to say…so I had to wait to feel a little more cheery. Nothing major going on, just regular life stuff. Feeling a little Thelma and Louise….if that makes any sense……

 I found an article and photo of work by an architect, Nader Khalili , who builds eco friendly kiln fired homes. I have known of his work, from my friend Darlene. She read a book about his work many years ago, and admired his vision. I like these homes, always loved ceramics, the idea of living in a giant earthen sculpture intrigues me.  I’m not sure what would be cooler,  a tree house or kiln fired home….. what do you think?
 

a beautiful excerp from Khalili’s book  Racing Alone

6 Comments

  1. Acey said,

    June 2, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Am so sorry you’ve been feeling ‘that way’. There’s a lot of it going around but that doesn’t ever seem to make it any more manageable on the inside. Love that last picture on the link so much. Reminds me very strongly of the Pantheon in Rome.

  2. jude said,

    June 2, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    a tree house made of clay maybe. it’ll pass. be ok.

  3. paulahewitt said,

    June 2, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Im glad you are feeling better. Its going around like the flu.I decided to have my breakdown on my blog. v.messy. .like Jude – a pot in a tree. I’d like a tree house, but its a close call!

  4. martie said,

    June 3, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    TREE HOUSE! I can imagine myself high above the earth, listening to the wind sing through the trees, the birds talking to me, and the smells of green. I’ll have to look up some of the kiln houses — they sound cold and antiseptic to me.

    Hope you start to feel “up” soon. Creative people, which you are one, are often plagued with feeling down. Hang in there, I know you’ll be flying soon!

  5. whereishenow said,

    June 3, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    a house built from the earth sounds so practical. also, safe from termites… possibly cool in the hot climates….easy to repair……. potentially claustrophobic…..but you could always go out to the tree house for some space……

    hope you get to a good place………

  6. clara said,

    June 7, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Anything, as long as it’s easy to maintain. Wish you well!


Leave a comment