progress….

I finally finished my niece’s bag/tote. I added an upcycled woven belt as a handle. I’m happy with the look. It’s much cooler than what I might have woven and only cost a dollar.

The newest addition to my sister’s family, her 2nd grandbaby will be recieving this quilt as soon as the little elephant has eyes and a tail, don’t want to traumatize anyone…;)

I’m so glad I cut into and used my small stash of thrifted, vintage barkcloth. It looks pretty good with this little elephant.  I still need to practice a lot, at this free form quilting, but I like the idea a lot.

Hope all of you are wonderful and enjoying your week.

5 Comments

  1. jude said,

    May 1, 2008 at 12:33 am

    hey it looks great, i like the combination of the different fabric. and the belt is a great idea! surely a very strong strap. perfect use for that. are you going to quilt it at all? i think the project i am working on will be a tote also.

  2. Acey said,

    May 1, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    wow, I love that barkcloth!

  3. whereishenow said,

    May 1, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    belts make really good bag straps and i love your colors!!!!

    your elephant looks very cool and I am looking forward to seeing more, i am off to find out what BARKCLOTH means… (envisioning white birch trees that i grew up with in alaska….)

  4. clara said,

    May 2, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Love the way you incorporate thrifty finds and ‘repurpose’ them. 🙂

  5. May 5, 2008 at 5:53 am

    […] There is a blue jacket of very heavy weave, probably a KENDO dogi. There is a ladies cotton shirt with dragon flies… too small for me, but good for my daughter….if she will wear it.  The “mexican” shirt is too good to be true, I mean…..SERAPE!!!! CACTUS!!!! SOMBRERO!!!! and HORSES!!!! and COVERED WAGONS!!!  what more could you want!!! and AND it fits me!!!  and AND it has a nubby texture and I am wondering if it is BARK CLOTH which I have just recently learned about over at https://laneyloo.wordpress.com/2008/04/30/progress/    […]


Leave a Reply

