wonky paper piece

p1020554.jpg

The batik is new, it seems I can’t go to a quilt store with out getting at least a little fabric. All the other is thrifted. The flower/star is a little over 10 inches wide. it will be part of a messenger bag for my niece Chelsie. I don’t think she reads this blog…so hopefully it’ll remain a secret…

It needs to be quilted. I was winging it while making the templates….my diamonds are too wide. I’ll keep experimenting with sizes and shapes. Piecing by hand is peaceful, though slow. I rediscovered a thrifted quilt book that I had misplaced under fabric. It has  instructions on English paper piecing, I might just figure out what I’m doing if I read the book instead of just looking at the photos. I am such a visual learner, but words are really useful sometimes.

Hope your weekends were creative and relaxing.

1 Comment

  1. Tracy said,

    March 11, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Great fabrics, Laney! Look forward to seeing the bag when it’s finished. I’m so bad about fabric…I’m always falling off the wagon and making little purchases. I’m soon going to have to join FAA–Fabric-a-holics Anonyums–LOL! Happy Days ((HUGS))


Leave a Reply

