hexagon fun

hexagons.jpg

I have been bitten by the paper piecing/hexagon bug……here is my first attempt. There are a lot of good tutorials and helpful hints out in cyber space. I’m grateful to all those talented people who share their knowledge. How do you like my vintage wall paper?? My bathroom needs an update…it’s just the bathroom though and it can wait. Each of the six sides are 1 inch wide. These are all vintage fabrics,  little squares found at a thrift store, and I wondered how I could use them.. These hexagons are addictive…not sure if I could do an entire quilt..maybe..

Here is the hexagon appliqued onto red cotton fabric, with colonial knots added on top of the red pen dots. It will eventually be made into a tote for my mom.

p1020511.jpg

5 Comments

  1. paulahewitt said,

    February 29, 2008 at 3:54 am

    I really enjoy paper piecing – but i buy the paper precut (lazy). This looks really cute – i love the all the pinks! another thrifty winner!

  2. jude said,

    February 29, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    definitely addictive, very nice, love the raised pink dots!

  3. Acey said,

    March 1, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    oh I am so frustrated that the photos aren’t appearing! Also wanted to let you know that I have a book about three dimensional quilting that I would like to send your way, if you’d be interested just drop me an email and let me know the mailing addy.

  4. Tracy said,

    March 2, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Very nice, Laney–love the fabrics and embellishments too! I’ve not tried this piecing techniqu yet. I have so much to learn still about quilting…Happy weekend ((HUGS))

  5. blabby said,

    April 17, 2008 at 2:05 am

    I love your colonial knots!!! I’ve been piecing hexes without the paper – much faster. But the problem I’m running into now is that the seams are a mess…I’m pressing them down with a mini iron, but they pop right back up. Any ideas? Did your seams lay flat when you appliqued your flower down? I’m about to get the starch out, but I’m trying to avoid that. Any ideas you have would be really appreciated!


Leave a Reply

