Mola love

068.jpg

I think I would have liked to have been a cultural anthropologist……although I’d probably have an even bigger stash of fabrics and REALLY cool textiles. This is half of a mola….I used the other half as the central panel in a baby blanket. I think the piece as a whole may have been torn, so to save it I cut it in half. A thrift store find.

I have recently pulled it out, and decided that I’d like to learn how to make these. I was surprised to read last night in my research that the Kuna Indian may be descendents of Southeast Asia, as long as 6 thousand years ago. The textiles of  Hmong and Laos are thought to be very similar. I had thought the same thing before, they do look very similar. Has anyone tried to make these or tried reverse applique? It looks challenging, but so beautiful.

7 Comments

  1. ninox said,

    January 24, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Oooh I totally love molas, this is a great sample!

  2. Acey said,

    January 24, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Hey this is actually my all time favorite technique – reverse applique, that is. I have not made anything close to being a true mola. This piece inspires me to change that. What a fabulous find – how excited you must have been when you first discovered it!

  3. maura said,

    January 27, 2008 at 2:57 am

    very nice!
    i’ve done a little bit of reverse applique and loved the way it looked…but i get lazy about all the little tucking. i’m a lazy embroiderer…but storing lots away for when i can make some quiet time.

  4. Ravenhill said,

    January 27, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I have tried reverse applique (very simple things) and I am an anthropologist! I can’t wait to see what you do. Thank you for showing your beautiful cultural artifact.

  5. jude said,

    January 27, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    i have been trying to comment for days on this but our computers must be having a secret conflict!!! i have done a lot of this, i am tring to find an old one i did that was more inspired by the classic style. try it you will love it!

  6. clara said,

    January 29, 2008 at 3:12 am

    Reverse applique sounds good!

  7. martie said,

    January 30, 2008 at 2:24 am

    I’ve never done anything like this, but I bet you can master it and I’m looking forward to seeing yours. You are a great fabric artist!


Leave a Reply

