Buttons and Beads and Cuff Links, Oh My!

087.jpg

I went to the thrift store for a quick fix…those of you that thrift shop probably understand……..I went straight for their crafty section, which often has embroidery thread, and sometimes cool fabric. Also buttons, old buttons. The last time I had gone in, I had picked out about 25 buttons and sat them on the counter and decided to go back quickly to check for sale items. When I got back the little bag of buttons had been accidentally placed into another’s bag….I mourned those silly buttons.. I felt silly for it. That was about a week and a half ago. When I went in today they had my little bag of buttons. The person who got them put into their bag, had seen me meticulously picking through the buttons, and brought them back for me! How nice!! I was happy! over silly little buttons…..aren’t they cool?!

Speaking of cool…I was given an award last weekend by the sweet, gracious and talented Acey, of http://sparklinglotusland.typepad.com/

please check out her stuff if you haven’t already. She is bright, funny and very creative. Thank you Acey for the award. You also make my day! It is such a nice feeling to have other talented, artistic folk praise your creative efforts. Opportunity for artistic camaraderie is sometimes scarce, so to have all of you to bounce ideas off and get wonderful feedback is awesome.  I am so grateful that we have the opportunity to know one another through our blogs…Yeah for the World Wide Web. and if I haven’t told you, my visitors/friends, You too, make my day!

5 Comments

  1. martie said,

    January 21, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Oh how wonderful! I was so sad for you (I too become so attached to some things — especially after choosing them!) and then they were returned. What a good soul that was. Enjoy your buttons. (and thank you for the birthday greeting)

  2. Tracy said,

    January 21, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    So glad you got your buttons back! And a great mix they are too. Nothing like an old bag or tin of buttons for entertainment value! ;o) Congrats on your award, Laney–very well done, and well deserved–enjoy! ((HUGS))

  3. joan said,

    January 21, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Oh Laney!!
    Your quilt is coming along so beautifully!!!
    I think my favorite part so far is your cabin… it looks positively ‘magical’ 🙂

    And about the buttons?
    I love vintage buttons too…
    so it wasn’t silly at all, I would have been sad if I’d lost my buttons…
    so happy that they were returned.
    You were obviously meant to have them!

    much love, and keep on quilting!!!
    xoxoxo
    joan

  4. jude said,

    January 22, 2008 at 12:35 am

    oh my!

  5. clara said,

    January 22, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    You make my day too! ^-^
    Glad you found the buttons! So nice of the person and you certainly had received excellent customer service!


Leave a Reply

