log cabin by the river

069.jpg

working on the cabin. Did a little what-ifing, inspired by Jude  http://spiritcloth.typepad.com/ . I had a little bag of 2″ by 2″ quilt squares bought at the thrift store. Wasn’t sure I would ever use them, so I challenged myself to come up with something pleasing just using the thrifted quilt squares. I knew it had to be the log cabin quilt pattern, and then I roofed the cabin with a piece of green velvet, another Jude inspiration.

At first I thought it looked a little eastern european, and then had a funny serendipitous happening. I called my dad to wish him Happy New Year, and while talking, he asked me what we had been up to. I answered, and mentioned that my husband had been reading  The Hobbit. My dad said excitedly, “I love  that book, an old woman in a bar gave me that once.”  So then I looked at the cabin and thought maybe it might be the cozy home of a hobbit.

my dad has a way of throwing in a quiet surprise now and again. That same conversation he told me how he likes to make fried chicken, marinated in buttermilk and honey. may need to try that.

3 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    January 2, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    That little cabin looks like home sweet home :o) Happy New Year, Laney! Wishing you the happiest days in 2008 ((HUGS))

  2. clara said,

    January 3, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Oh, wish I could stay in that log by that river. Love the chimney smoke!
    Happy 2008, Laney! 🙂

  3. kimy said,

    January 9, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    sweet cozy little hobbit home! a perfect addition.


Leave a Reply

