wonky wool

0181.jpg

found a little side project to work on.  Don’t know what this will end up as…It was inpired by this-

020.jpg a wool utility quilt found in the book below. I checked this book out from the library so often and have late fees to prove it…just so that I could look at this quilt. I REALLY like it. I was reading another quilting blog that mentioned a tutorial on ibbybee’s quilt blog and realized I might be able to try my hand at this…I need more practice but it is a start…I don’t know if I have enough patience to make an entire quilt this way…but I REALLY like that one! I finally got the book used on Amazon for like $3.99 plus shipping….oy vey the late fees I have paid on this book…...

024.jpg

6 Comments

  1. jude said,

    December 11, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    fabulous, i am “itching” to do some more work in wool. this looks great! and you know the best thing about wool is you can applique with no turning under. and you can felt it all together. and its warm … i love wool.

  2. Acey said,

    December 12, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Wow I love the way you worked your inspiration source! Looks like you will be getting a lot of mileage out of the book. Thanks so much for the generous and sweet thoughts you left on my blog. ..

  3. Tracy said,

    December 13, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    I like that woolen crazy-style quilt–both yours and the one in the book. Very exciting project! Happy Day ((HUGS))

  4. clara said,

    December 13, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    hmm…they look like logs, or cell bars or pillars…you know me, i love to “read” quilts 🙂

  5. laneyloo said,

    December 16, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Jude,
    Thank you! Growing up in California, I had a hard time finding thrifted wool. Now that I am in the midwest, there is an abundant supply. I too want to see what I can do…one of these days I want to braid a wool rug…and this quilt idea is intrigueing me………

    Hi Acey, your welcome! Your blog is a very thoughtful one, with much eyecandy for the artists who visit you. You help me get my fix!

    Hi Tracy..Thank you…you are a good friend, and a much better blogger than me! I need to go to thespiritual B and B of yours and see if I can get a little more centered!

    Hi Clara,
    you struck a cord…I hope I’m not feeling imprisoned!! I do have to say winter is not my favorite season, still have a love/hate relationship with the snow…like to look at it, and that is about it! Hope you are well! and thank you for visiting.

    I will be visiting ya’ll soon!

  6. Tonya R said,

    February 13, 2008 at 7:58 am

    I have that same book with that same incredible fantastic wonderful wool quilt.


Leave a Reply

