baptism by snow

018.jpg

all this hand quilting is starting to pay off. The quilt is starting to behave like a quilt. It folds up so nicely into a bundle. It reminds me of a cowboys blanket roll. It is very satisfying to fold it..is that weird?

025.jpg

still lots to go as you can see. I started to use the striped fabric as the backing and with all the quilting I did on the river sand, it was just too rough on the back side.  So I found a twin size navy blue flannel sheet in our linen closet and that feels perfect. I need to find my silvery silk to include a moon, my dad has done his fair share of howling at the moon…

027.jpg

so far the sky has been my favorite part to quilt, it looks like actual clouds to me. The moon will go just to the left of these clouds.

4 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    December 10, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    That sky in the quilt looks so real! It’s all looking so wonderful…It’s easy to see how much fun you are having with this project! Happy Days ((HUGS))

  2. joan said,

    December 11, 2007 at 4:06 am

    Oh Laney, it just gets lovelier by the day!
    Hope you aren’t snowed in… seems Mother Nature is on an early roll.
    Can’t wait ti see your silvery moon!

  3. laneyloo said,

    December 11, 2007 at 4:37 am

    Hi Tracy,
    thank you so much for visiting…I have been so behind in coming round to my friends/and fellow bloggers….hubby likes this new laptop alot, so it is hard to get my time on here…..I will try and visit you soon. I am having fun with this quilt, it is inspiring other ideas for other projects….just need to win the lottery so I can have more TIME….so many ideas. Happy days to you too!

    Sweet Joan,
    hello, thank you for saying so, it feels sometimes like progress is slow, so I am glad you notice it’s progression.We are supposed to get an ice storm tonight…will have to see. Hope you are well and warm too. Silvery moon coming up..tootles!

  4. jude said,

    December 11, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    hey, this quilt is absolutely wonderful. it is truly folk art at its best. honest and loving and simply and economically made. i love the snow ceremony and yes! folding a quilt is part of the process. i think that is why i put them together so quickly even if the details are not done. i love to fold them and roll them and hug them. i really love what you have done. really!


Leave a Reply

