a quilt for baby

010.jpg 

i had made other quilts for other special babies before…but this one was for my baby. I started this before I knew if we would have a boy or girl, and had several things in mind…I wanted to somehow magically imbue my child with some of the qualities from the quilt.  I wanted him/her to have long life, so I put in fabric from the dress of a woman that had lived to be 97. i wanted him or her to be touched by nature and be enchanted with it, so I added frogs, butterlies , elephants, snakes, monkeys, I wanted my child to be gentle and honest so there was pink for gentleness and blue, for true blue.

How blessed we are to have this child. ..with all his wild, exuberant ways…..some expected and some wild, wacky surprises.

6 Comments

  1. jude said,

    November 29, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    i love the simplicity and stories in your quilts. they have so much spirit.

  2. Acey said,

    November 29, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    There’s great heart in this one. I wonder what stories he has told himself from this quilt?

  3. Tracy said,

    November 30, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    Such sweetness, love and life in this post, Laney…and your quilt tells the story. Happy weekend to all of you ((HUGS)) Drop me a line sometime… :o)

  4. martie said,

    December 1, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    Beautiful quilt — and a great tribute to your child.

  5. Ravenhill said,

    December 2, 2007 at 5:49 am

    A gorgeous quilt and very sweet sentiments behind it. Just beautiful. Quilts that have a history and story are my favorite kind.

  6. laneyloo said,

    December 3, 2007 at 2:29 am

    hi Jude,
    Thank you very much.I wanted to tell you how much I appreciate your comments. When I wrote about the Alaska quilt not being square your response made my day. You called the quilt earthy and said it MOVES!! Thank you for that.

    Hello Acey,
    Thank you, You have said exactly what I had felt, just that I loved this new baby with all my heart, I’m glad you saw it. I hope he does tell himself stories with it…..

    Hi Tracy,
    Thank you for stopping by…I will write soon I promise!!…had to wrestle the laptop away from my hubby! Have a great week and HUGS to you!

    Martie,

    Thank you so much..I’d still like to see some more of your quilts! I loved the photo of you and your daughter on the quilt your mom? made.

    Hello Ravenhill,

    Thank you very much for visiting. I am glad you came by, I have always liked quilts with a story too. It’s even more fun to create the story and quilt. I hope I have more in me!


Leave a Reply

