Pay it Forward gift Exchange

001.jpg

This is my PIF gift for Tracy at Pinkpurl  http://pinkpurl.typepad.com/  It was fun to make and different from things I have previously made…a little freer a little more intuitive. Thank you Tracy for signing up, I hope you like it! I was able to send it to her while she visited her family in Pennsylvania.

My quilting and embroidery was inspired by Jude at http://spiritcloth.typepad.com/

She has recently begun a PIF exchange, and I had to join….I feel a little greedy though because she has already sent me a wonderful gift of fabrics. I received a parcel that made me swoon with joy. It is so nice to share such an enjoyment of fabric with such a gifted artist as Jude and then to have her send me a gift was so very wonderful, beautiful pieces of fabric from Indonesia and Turkey, etc…….cottons, velvets and silks. I can’t wait to use it in the Alaska quilt. A very lovely gift.

Thank You Jude!

Here are the rules for the PIF exchange-

“I will send a handmade gift to the first 3  people who leave a comment on my blog requesting to join this PIF exchange. I don’t know what that gift will be yet and you may not receive it tomorrow or next week, but you will receive it within 365 days, that is my promise! The only thing you have to do in return is pay it forward by making the same promise on your blog.”

Quote-

Believe that with your feelings and your work you are taking part in the greatest; the more strongly you cultivate this belief, the more will reality and the world go forth from it.
Rainer Maria Rilke

p.s. I would like to extend the PIF gift exchange to those who don’t yet have a blog, if you would like to comment. I will send gifts to 6  people total….3 bloggers and 3 who do not yet blog.

6 Comments

  1. jude said,

    October 22, 2007 at 12:22 am

    hey great post and i think by encouraging gift giving we are doing a great thing. your creations have a freshness i admire……thank you

  2. geekbetty said,

    October 22, 2007 at 11:51 am

    wow that’s lovely! you did a great job on it.
    and the pay it forward gift idea is a great one, especially with the holiday seasons arriving soon.

  3. Acey said,

    October 22, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    That’s an awesome gift. Intuitive sewing really brings so much joy to the maker *and* the recipient. I too felt EXTREMELY greedy to crave inclusion in Jude’s PIF efforts, but it didn’t stop me from getting involved, anyway. I’m looking forward to making these gifts. It’s been a very pleasant preoccupation to think about it and I like the way it encourages us to reach out to each other. Very good medicine indeed!

  4. martie said,

    October 23, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    What a beautiful bag! This is a great creation – you are an artist! While I would love to have a gift – please do not include me. I am not crafting just now do to a number of issues. If this was a year from now – heck yes! But I just had to leave a comment to tell you that this is a great idea and you are a really gifted lady.

  5. mary said,

    October 24, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    what a beautiful bag Laney :))
    love it!
    and a great initiative..
    Mary

  6. Tracy said,

    October 26, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    I just LOVE my bag, Laney! It is so beautiful…It is a splendid creation, so rich and intricate in detail and full of spirit! Thank you so much! The PIF has been such fun. Happy Days, my friend ((HUGS))


Leave a Reply

