the river to be

007.JPG

Here is the latest. I have been piecing by hand and find it very soothing. I feel like I have a little more control than with the sewing machine, with all these curves.

Jude asked in her comment to the last post, if i was using wool fabric. Normally I would like to use all natural fibers, cotton, silk, or wool. Sometimes though, you have to go with what you have. The bear is wool and polyester and made from a recycled jacket, it doesn’t have a label, but didn’t shrink when washed. The fabric the bears are standing on is cotton and polyester, i think? it also didn’t have a label, made from recycled mens slacks. I thought the speckled beige worked so well for river sand. I think it will wear well and will work well as a whole with the finished piece.

This has been fun, and I’m glad Jude           http://spiritcloth.typepad.com/ 

encouraged me to get busy making this. I really have enjoyed everyone’s comments and feel as though my creativity has gotten a jump start. Thank you for visiting and for commenting.

5 Comments

  1. jude said,

    October 14, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    using what is on hand is always part of the fun, the reason i asked is because i have been thinking for doing a wool quilt, i guess i’ll call it a blanket…..anyway, this looks great, enjoying every step….

  2. clara said,

    October 15, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    this is so creative!

    are the snowflakes scraps as well?

  3. Acey said,

    October 16, 2007 at 3:29 am

    I just love this so much. It makes me incredibly happy just to look at the pictures.

  4. martie said,

    October 17, 2007 at 11:32 am

    This does look like it was fun to work on. You did a great job – very interesting!

  5. laneyloo said,

    October 18, 2007 at 8:07 am

    Oh Jude, I can’t wait to see what you come up with in wool…I have fabric..I will share….more wool than I could possibly use…..lots of wool skirts in midwestern thrift stores..I guess midwesterners are sensible souls…

    Hi Clara, yes the snowflakes are thrifted curtains…I was thrilled to find snowflake fabric…my son was sure the snowflake was a butterfly….I told him I’d be sure to have a butterfly in the quilt.

    Acey, I am so happy that you like it…I saw traditional bear paw quilting book yesterday at the library and thought of you.

    Thank you Martie, it has…it has made me think of lots more projects too…more gifts to make…


Leave a Reply

