Mama Bear, markers and snowflakes

002.JPG

Here is the latest on the quilt. I went ahead and got markers like Jude suggested…..and they are FUN!

I found a pair of mens silk slacks at the thrift store for .99 cents. They have a nice weight and feel and they were great to color on. The green circle is a scrap from the slacks. I included a snowflake, because Mama bears think about snowflakes in the middle of July.

Have you heard of Wilson Bentley? He is one of my creative heroes. He spent his whole life studying and photographing snowflakes! You can find out more here-

00009.jpg http://snowflakebentley.com/

4 Comments

  1. jude said,

    October 13, 2007 at 11:13 am

    this is great! are those wool fabrics? are you working block by block? i like the motifs encased in animal forms. great idea.

  2. acey said,

    October 13, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    The animals rock in all kindsa directions. Was so happy to see the mama bear. I never thought about what they must think about … Love bears, husband is quite attached to them but I do not often work with the imagery at a creative level. Have always fantasized doing a bear claw quilt that intersperses the traditional patchwork Bear’s Paw with a stylized indigenous claw print. Markers are very cool for this kind of labor intensive work. All kinds (work and markers, both …)

  3. tenar72 said,

    October 14, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    The bears look great, keep going! I also was glad to find another wordpress blog by a crafter using the same theme as me.

    Tenar

  4. laneyloo said,

    October 14, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Hi Jude,

    wool and polyester for the bear and not real sure of the river sand…cotton/polyester. I am going more in sections. The main scene will be near the top of the quilt and the denim will be embellished down below, where the river will run.

    Hi Acey,
    I’m so glad you like them. I am growing to ike bears even more with this quilt. Your quilt sounds wonderful. I hope we get to see it when you are ready. yes, I like the markes have to figure out the whole heat setting thing still. I got a watercolor effect when i washed the bear. i like it though…just need to experiment. Thank you for stopping by.

    Hi Tenar,

    I have visited your site before, i recognize the name. i think I must have folowed a link, maybe from Jude’s blog. I really like your embroidery. You are very good at it. I appreciate your encouragement.


Leave a Reply

