quilt inspirations

meekquilt-full.jpg

Beautiful quilt by Cora Meek.  Photo found here-

http://www.art.org/

This looks like a great website about folk art and literature….some of my favorite things!

quilt.gif                  picture114.jpg  

Harriet Powers…..wow! 

http://www.answers.com/topic/harriet-powers

Quilts I have long been inspired by.

018.JPG

Here is the progress so far. As I worked on this bear, I realized something cool. As a child in the 70’s I had always wanted an embroidered jean jacket, with all the cool animals and flowers on it. And now I have taught myself enough to make one if I want, or a quilt or whatever….. I realized as I made this that my passions were calling to me way back then. Art/Craft has ALWAYS been what I want TO DO.

11 Comments

  1. jude said,

    October 2, 2007 at 10:56 am

    the bear looks GREAT! and harriet powers is one of my favs, an original source of inspiration for story quilting….i am going to start a group for story cloth soon, i will invite you….

  2. ninox said,

    October 2, 2007 at 11:50 am

    Beautiful!

  3. mary said,

    October 2, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    how beautiful ***

    and I love Harriet Powers too.

    quilt on!

  4. Acey said,

    October 2, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    it’s great to see other Harriet Powers lovers. When I lived in Boston I would visit that creation quilt every few years. Never got tired ot it. Your bear is fabulous. Have been staring at it with a big happy smile

  5. laneyloo said,

    October 3, 2007 at 9:14 am

    Wow, I’m so glad you all liked these quilter’s, such artists in their own right.

    Jude, thank you so much for the invitation, I an honored. I’m glad you like the bear too!

    Jennifer, thank you for the thumbs up. So glad to hear from you.

    Mary, thank you thank you! You are a great cheerleader in case you weren’t sure!

    Acey, what a nice thought. I’m glad Turqouise could give you a grin! I am SO jealous that you saw one of her quilts in PERSON!! Wow..too cool.

  6. shadesofjoan said,

    October 3, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Laney,
    this little guy is so beautiful… I can actually ‘see’ the texture of his fur.
    It is wonderful execusion, and truly showcases how talented you are!! (you are.. you are!!)
    I cannot wait to see how all of this evolves. thanks so much for sharing this with us… as a child of the 70’s I TOO longed for an embroidered jean jacket.
    You inspire me!

  7. kim said,

    October 3, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    your bear is most handsome and conveys mighty good bear medicine! thanks for the links -I believe harriet powers vision will forever inspire.

    as a young woman in the 1970s I did have a most beautiful jean jacket that a friend had embroidered with a large lion on the back – oh to have that jacket now!

    keep following your muse sweet laneyloo!!

  8. Felicia said,

    October 3, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Love that folk art quilt 🙂

  9. clara said,

    October 4, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    It’s nice when each square tells a story or depicts a scene.

    the bear is pleased with it’s look! just look at that cool smile!

    your passion will drive you on and on!

  10. laneyloo said,

    October 7, 2007 at 3:07 am

    Kim- Thank you so much, your words make me so happy and even more jazzed about working on this quilt…I would have loved to see your lion.

    Felicia I’m so glad you liked it….can’t go wrong with these beauties!

    Clara……such good words, thank you for the chutzpah pep talk!!

    THANK YOU everyone, so much for your kind and encouraging words about this quilt…I really appreciate them.

  11. kyra said,

    April 7, 2008 at 3:32 am

    I’m with you – a fan of Harriet Powers story quilts!

    Best, Kyra
    http://www.BlackThreads.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

