gold in the river

007.JPG

I took Turquoise out in the sun today to see if she looked more golden. My dad was a gold miner during the summer and spent his free time, mining a creek, near Eagle, Alaska. I wanted to have some reference to gold and this pretty thrifted embroidery thread did the trick. Fur is a tricky thing to try and capture on the other hand. For now I have used small  cotton crochet thread, making many chain stitches everywhere. I wanted the head and shoulders to be “blonder” than the rest of the bear. I am trying to work with what I have…..LOTS of thrifted supplies. She is soft and will be warm.

5 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    September 27, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    I LOVE turquoise…and your turquoise bear is shaping up wonderful! Your stitches are so fine…He looks like a very happy bear. Does he have a name? Happy stitching ((HUGS))

  2. laneyloo said,

    September 28, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Hi Tracy,
    I like it too, especially after this particular trip up a river when I was 8. The bear’s name is Turqouise. I will have more about the bear soon. Thank you for stopping by!!

  3. kim said,

    September 28, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    turqouise is a beautiful bear…. wonderful work! kudos laney xxx

  4. jude said,

    September 29, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    looks good, there is tufted stitch, turkey work i think its called, you clip the ends and it sort of looks like fur. but this is ok i think, the tufting can pull out with use. i am sending you some stuff to work with, probably by the end of the week. because i have a cold and i am sort of laying around today.

  5. laneyloo said,

    September 30, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Kim,

    Thank you! I am having fun with this….

    Jude,

    thank you so much for your gift. I hope you feel better soon. No fun feeling crummy.I hope you get lots of rest. I’d make you chicken soup if I could get it to you still warm!


Leave a Reply

