Star quality

Here is Therly’s picture from our trip to the art museum. She was looking extra glamourous that day. I loved her Cleopatra eyes. Therly wants to act…She would be good at it too, and I even think she has the strength and street smarts to survive the Hollywood lifestyle. She would also be a great Social worker, she has seen much. She would be able to help teens in crisis. I hope that she pursues school, getting a degree.

 The painting below of Gauguin’s was one of her favorites from the museum…

I liked it too. I remember an art history teacher of mine, (Tom Howell, how the heck are you?) telling us about how Gauguin had realized while in Tahiti, that in a way his presence, (and that of the Colonists and Church) had spoiled the purity and innocence that had previous been there. I learned more about Gauguin here,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Gauguin

I had not known that his mother was half Peruvian and that from the ages of 3-7 years old he lived in Peru. What a little Globe trotter..

How about a quote……

That’s what really interests me more and more, the investigation of the human heart.
Jessica Lange

4 Comments

  1. martie said,

    September 24, 2007 at 10:15 am

    And your friend actually resembles the woman in the painting! How cool is that? I love museums (right after botanical gardens).

  2. Tracy said,

    September 24, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Your Therly is lovely! Don’t you love wikipedia?! You can learn everything here! Love today’s quote, Laney…my sentiments exactly! Happy Day ((HUGS))

  3. jude said,

    September 24, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    lovely and informative post. warming.

  4. laneyloo said,

    September 25, 2007 at 7:00 am

    Hi Martie, I’m glad someone else saw the resemblance! I love when that happens, when life mimics art. I will have to ask Therly if she thinks that they resemble each other…Art museums and Libraries are first on the list for me…but botanical gardens are a close second.

    Thank you Tracy…and I do like wiki…never know when you might need some info in your next game of trivia pursuit! Glad you liked the quote.

    Thank you Jude, I never really get tired of learning about art.


Leave a Reply

