friday night tacos

015.jpg 

This is Antonio Jr.  a.k.a.  “The Taco King”

Therly has had family visiting from Brooklyn. Therly loves to cook. Her dad and younger brother both do too. They all have magic culinary skills. Antonio made his famous chicken tacos for dinner last night and I got to help in the kitchen and learn how they are made. He even taught me how to make the chile sauce. It was all so good. While the kids played and the guys kicked the soccer ball around, Antonio and I made lots of tacos. We were worried we wouldn’t have quite enough, Antonio Sr. has lots of friends and a cousin that love tacos too. It was a little like the fishes and loaves….there was plenty.

018.jpg

022.jpg 

First, we started with the sauce.

We got the chicken boiling too. Antonio says that you can use any meat you want, shrimp or beef, whatever you like. I have to say the chicken is very good.

023.jpg 

The creama,  Antonio mixed together sour cream and heavy whipping cream to make a lighter sour cream sauce.

After the chicken was done, we started the tacos. There is a knack to rolling them, Antonio was much better at it than me.

028.jpg 

It’s helpful to warm up the corn tortillas before rolling the tacos, so that they do not crumble. You roll them up and then press them firmly so that they stayed compressed long enough to put them in the hot oil to fry. I know, fried!!! But they were so good, and it was Friday, after all (translate, you can eat fried on special occassions…)

.033.jpg 

Here is the final product.

Tacos…oh they were so delicious. 

  

8 Comments

  1. jude said,

    September 8, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    o my gosh, my mouth is watering. my tacos never look that good.

  2. kim said,

    September 8, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    I think I’m gonna have to have saturday night tacos! ….my tacos never look that good, but now I have some photos to guide and give inspiration. maybe antonio will be driving through cleveland on their way back to brooklyn and give some instruction? mi casa su casa!

  3. Tinkerblue said,

    September 8, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    Oh, they look soo good. I need Tacos. Now.

  4. martie said,

    September 9, 2007 at 4:22 am

    YUM! I can taste them from here. Great post.

  5. Darlene Cornett said,

    September 10, 2007 at 1:40 am

    Pure magic realsim. You mention it was like fishes and loaves, but my immediate association was “Like Tacos for Water.” I’m certain, even though it looks good enough to eat, the photo doesn’t do justice to the taste.

  6. Clara said,

    September 11, 2007 at 6:54 am

    These pictures are really making me very hungry. 🙂

  7. Tracy said,

    September 11, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    I feel very hungry all of a sudden! LOL! Fun, yummy post, Laney! ((HUGS))

  8. laneyloo said,

    September 14, 2007 at 8:24 am

    Hello,

    Antonio LOVED hearing all your comments….He got a moment to be proud of his cullinary skills…thank you to everyone who oooh and awwed!


Leave a Reply

