Thighs of steel

nutcracker.jpg

I want to make stuff all day long!

As Thomas the tank engine, I too, want to be a Useful engine. I know that what I do has value, and I am grateful for that.

I also know that I daydream regularly of making things all day, and being able to create in my own home studio.  Using my hands to create. Playing my own music and drawing, painting, beading, sewing all day long. The delimma is that I don’t know how to do that and make a living at it.

I photographed this nutcracker and as I was editing the image, I thought about what a peaceful look this woman has about her usefullness. She is at peace with her nutcrackerness. How have you learned to be at peace with what you do for a living? How have you made your dreams come true?

5 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    August 29, 2007 at 8:46 am

    That nutcracker is beautiful! And she does indeed look very content with the role she has in life. I’m growing more content as I grow older, more serenity takes over than anxiety or fear. But I’m still working on making my dreams come true…especially the one where crafting is my sole living, and that my works of art are out among the word and appreciated. I just want to make stuff too! LOL! ((HUGS))

  2. jude said,

    August 29, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    i usually work myself into liking what a do, even if it isn’t exactly what i wish i was doing, but i am not sure EXACTLY what that is so i drift along SLOWLY, but i’m getting there i think.

  3. laneyloo said,

    August 31, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Thank you so much Tracy and Jude for commenting. You are both such wonderful examples of people embracing their creative selves. We are all fortunate, those who visit your blogs to share with you in that.

  4. kim said,

    August 31, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    I think my approach is very similar to jude’s I tend to approach work believing that I will like what I’m doing and I will find the meaning and purpose for myself that I need in the that activity….if something does happen and I find myself no longer finding the needed feeling of purpose (and joy) then I mosey along to something else (needless to say my worklife is one giant crazy quilt! – I’ve never been one to ‘make big bucks’ – that is not important to me and my contributions to the family’s community chest wax and wane – we adjust our lifestyle accordingly. we try to avoid getting sucked into material wants and all that…

    long ago I latched on to ram dass advice (which is really part of the whole yogic school of thought) to be here now….I have far to go, but I’m mindful of the quest and am ‘working’ on it….. the journey is important not the destination…

  5. Darlene Cornett said,

    September 3, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    I have grappled with this question frequently throughout my life, about whether or not what I was working at was creative. I used to get caught up in the idea that to be creative meant producing some tangible object, even if only momentarily, like baking a cake. Not to say that those aren’t the most delicious masterpieces, but I no longer think of creativity in soley those terms. Everytime I enteract with another person, creativity is right there beside me, helping me form my smile and choose my words, which won’t be remembered a second after they are uttered. Being the recipient of kind or harsh words has molded me into the creation I am today.

    I ablsolutely adore art and admire tremendously those that are gifted enough to produce it. When I was younger, it would make me despair that I was omitted from that priveledged club, where others seemed to have a natural aptitude for creating beauty. It took many years for me to reconcile my apparent void and unconscious envy with my appreciation of artists.


Leave a Reply

