A visit from serenity

butterfly.jpg

I had a nice visitor today…..been feeling a little hectic around here lately. So it was nice to have such a peaceful beauty come to say hello. This little critter spent a long time, for a butterfly, hanging around my back deck. I was so happy to have my camera so handy!

Therly’s little boy was rushed to the hospital with pneumonia yesterday. He is doing much better..Thank goodness. I have been reminded lately how well western medicine works and it has humbled me…I feel a little foolish with my rush to judge in a former post. I still wish we did some things differently, but I have been blessed by so many of the ways we do things right. Thank you, America’s medical staff! I applaud you!

backyard-feet.jpg Here are some cute feet to end this post with. They are both so happy to have each other for neighbor’s. They fight like cats and dogs sometimes, but mostly they are grateful for one another.

3 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    August 27, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    Beautiful butterfly!! Do you know what it’s called? How lucky you were to see it…So glad your friend’s son will be all right! Sometimes the medicial world and treatment is a mystery, sometimes a very up & down sort of thing. We can but hope that all will receive the treatment/care they need. Very cute feet there at the botttom ;o) Happy Day ((HUGS))

  2. kim said,

    August 27, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    gorgeous butterfly!

    glad to hear your friend’s son is on the mend. I also have been (and still am) very critical of western (american) medicine and its approach to healing. as we all should be – being critical of something is not the same as not recognizing that something has value. many years ago I had an accident which humbled me and if it wasn’t for high tech, sophisticated western medicine I would either be dead or not have a foot so it made me appreciate it and realize that with most things there is a time and a place for it. after that incident (which happened in 1984) I actually went into a graduate program which led me to a career in medical education for 15 years! I still consult with MDs but have ‘retired’ from having my worklife be solely inside ‘the belly of the beast’ (which is how I refer to the US medical-industrial-complex) if you are looking for a good read there’s a wonderful book on the history of US medicine – Paul Starr “The Social Transformation of American Medicine” – it’s an amazing book. even though it’s non-fiction I found it as compelling as a good novel – it actually won the pulitzer prize for non-fiction in 1984. it was written in 1982, I think but still incredibly relevant today.

    cute, cute feet!

  3. laneyloo said,

    August 29, 2007 at 8:58 am

    Hi Tracy, no I don’t know it’s name. I wish I did. I hadn’t seen one like this before. Thank you for your concern for Therly and her little boy..all those good thoughts surely helped him along.

    Kim, Thank you for the recommendation. I do wish I were more informed about this subject. It sounds as though you have been intimately aware of both sides of the coin. I liked your description of being inside the belly of the beast. I will be sure to find the book and read it. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

