little girl in california

little-girl-california.jpg

I love this image. I found her in an antique store in my home town.  Sandy, the owner of the antique store sold me my first antiques. She liked me for some unknown reason and gave me really good deals. I bought my first 35mm camera from her. I asked her if she’d go down on the price, and if I remember correctly she gave me 50% off. I paid on this old camera a few dollars at a time.LOL..what patience and kindness she showed me. She sold me many things over the years. She sold me my first cast iron pot, which I still have and use. I proved to be a loyal customer. I was never a big spender, but I always went to Sandy’s before any other antique store. This was one of the old photos she had acquired. This little girl embodies innocence. I like it also because it looks like California, with an orange tree in the background. I hope you enjoy it, as I do. I wonder when it was taken? It looks like the turn of the century or maybe early 1900’s. Does anyone have any ideas? What should we call her?

3 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    August 17, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    Love your old photo here! This does look like early 1900’s, give this happy little girl’s clothing. She needs a good old-fashioned name, don’t you think? Cordelia? Margaret? Her teddybear needs a name too–Nellie? hhhmmm…this is fun, I like naming things! tee-hee..Let us know what you decide. Happy weekend to your & yours! ((HUGS))

  2. laneyloo said,

    August 18, 2007 at 1:19 am

    Tracy, I think Cordelia fits her. Let’s also say she grows up to be a strong woman, and gives herself the name of Del or Delia. She writes a book, grows beautiful cacti in the mountains of Sante Fe, and one day scuba dives with Jacque Cousteau. She has to leave Nellie home for that trip though. he-he

  3. Mary said,

    August 18, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Ivy is pretty 🙂

    I really like her.

    and definitely she will write books for children about her scuba adventures.

    Mary


Leave a Reply

