The Grand-mother load

016.jpg

What a day… it’s been kind of surreal and dreamlike today. I went to the hand quilting group( in a local retirement village), this morning to photograph the quilters and quilts to show you, and had a fun surprise. A woman had donated to the group some things(a whole lotta things), that had belonged to her mother, to use in their quilting group. They were unable to use or store all of this incredible, life times worth, of crafting stash and are going to donate it to the retirement village thrift store. I asked, if I could buy some of the items and then helped to sort and box some of it…

It was awesome………in the truest sense of the word.

Thanks to a great lady that runs the quilting group I got to take some of this beautiful collection home.

I am Happy!!

 014.jpg 

The woman who had collected and created beautifully, with all of her stash, had been multi-talented…she painted, quilted, embroidered, and was even a rug hooker! I got a portable rug hooking frame for $5!!

I will have more photos tomorrow.  She had amazing taste. I would have liked to have known her, and said thank you.

2 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    August 5, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    What a splendid post, Laney! And how wonderful you were able to come across such a treasure trove of things–enjoy your new stash! ((HUGS))

  2. Mary said,

    August 18, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Oh Wonderful!
    the fabrics and hand sewn and stories.

    thanks for sharing

    I posted a comment looking for your blog but found you through my stats…Now I added you so I wont loose you again :=)

    be well.
    Mary


Leave a Reply

