the rug that never ends and the slow hooker

rug_1.jpg 

started this rug when I was pregnant with my son…it was all going along fantastic…I was really getting a lot accomplish. My mom and one of her best friends said one day….

“So, when will it be done, when the baby graduates from high school?”

I thought at first they were teasing me….

“No, It’s already half done.” I said.

Well, we continued, (my son and I) to work on the rug, after he was born, until he was about 6 months old. Here and there…between nursing….laundering cloth diapers…….and just basically figuring out what it meant to be a parent of an infant. We were blessed  with a healthy pregnancy and baby, and it’s a busy time….but the busyness was just beginning……….

I honestly don’t know how women with multiple children do it all….

I still have not finished the rug……..sigh…..about the time my son was trying to scoot his way across the floor, I knew this rug would indeed take a while…hopefully before his graduation though!!

This rug was the first rug I had ever hooked. Why I decided to make a rug that was 5′ by 7′ my first project, I just don’t know…..I have completed other rugs…smaller rugs…maybe because they are portable. 010.jpg

The hook I made, after realizing that the aluminum crochet hook I was trying to use was just not going to make it to the finish line…I like it, because the piece of brass was inherited from my father in law. A hard working man. I kind of feel like he has helped in making the rug.

Wish me luck!!

4 Comments

  1. kim said,

    August 1, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    it’s beautiful, maybe it’s just me, but I find it evocative of a tibetan sensibility.

    good things come in time! one of my mantras is ‘it gets done, when it gets done and not a moment sooner!’ – I don’t know if it helps, but it always keeps me from feeling frazzed if something takes longer than I might have once thought!

    I have a friend who started a quilt when her son was in 6th grade, she finally finished it and gave it to him after he graduated from COLLEGE (and he took the 6 year route)….fortunately she hadn’t chosen any juvenile fabrics. it gets done when it gets done….and when that time comes it’s pure pleasure.

    luck if you need it! 😉

  2. laneyloo said,

    August 1, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    Kim,
    Thank you so much for such a kind comment. I love tibetan costume and jewelry, I’m so happy you think it looks tibetan. And thank you for reminding me that the journey is important, and it will all fall into place.

  3. Tracy said,

    August 2, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    It’s wonderful! Slow & steady wins the race, as they say! ;o) It will be worth the wait…And then when your DS is ready to graduate from college he can have your nice rug for his new home! LOL! Not luck needed though, Laney, for you are already doing a great job on the rug! ((HUGS))

  4. jude said,

    August 2, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    it’s a big project and it will be worth all the waiting …..


Leave a Reply

