Treasures and Trinkets on the way home

011.jpg

My son and I get to visit a little on the way home from school every day.  I like it,  an uninterrupted time to see what we are both contemplating. He told me the other day, that he wants to be an Ice Cream man or a Muffin man,  he wants to have his birthday party first though! 

It got me wondering about the song, ” The Muffin Man”.

Oh, do you know the muffin man,
The muffin man, the muffin man,
Oh, do you know the muffin man,
That lives on Drury Lane?

Oh, yes, I know the muffin man,
The muffin man, the muffin man,
Oh, yes, I know the muffin man,
That lives on Drury Lane.

Now two of us know the muffin man,
The muffin man, the muffin man,
Now two of us know the muffin man,
That lives on Drury Lane.

A few of us know the muffin man,
The muffin man, the muffin man,
A few of us know the muffin man,
That lives on Drury Lane.

Now we all know the muffin man,
The muffin man, the muffin man,
Now we all know the muffin man,
That lives on Drury Lane.

I know I need to write all these down, because one day, he’ll talk like the rest of us and no longer want to be a “Muffin Man”. Now I know why he wants to be a muffin man….EVERYBODY knows the muffin man……………the little boy who’s second word after “daddy” was “Hi”.

We discovered an Estate Sale…….I had $1.32  in cash on me….what could I possibly find? I found a bag of trinkets….tiny scissors, an old sewing kit, tweezers (can never have too many of these), brown thread. When I took the photo I felt like we were going to play, “I Spy………”. 

Darlene, Happy Birthday! Belated, I’m sorry….I can never remember if it is July 27, 28 or 29……You have to admit, mine IS a little easier to remember… 😉

Hope your b-day and upcoming cruise is wonder-filled.

7 Comments

  1. jude said,

    July 28, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    nice buy for the price.
    i have a little yellow record, a recording of the muffin man and this post brings soft and kind memories to my mind…i too wanted to be a muffin(wo)man.

  2. Darlene Cornett said,

    July 28, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    It is July 29. Thank you for the b-day and cruise wish. We are excited. I’ll try to get some interesting photos to share. Hope they’re as good as yours.
    I guess I have a practical mind. Was your son hungry while on the way home? The little sweetie has a sweet tooth. I often have that dilemma muffin or ice cream hmm…

  3. Tracy said,

    July 29, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Oh, I remember that little ryhme from a book as a kid…How sweet your DS is! I remember my sister wanted to either an ice cream truck driver or a garbage truck drive (LOL!) Lovely little bits & piece you found–I love old sewing notions! Happy Weekend! :o)

  4. kim said,

    July 29, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    so many treasures for 1.32. … and thanks for the muffin man earworm 😉 a tad bit better than my last – elmo’s world, la, la, la…..

  5. Maddy said,

    July 29, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    What a great buy, you did well with your $1.32.

  6. laneyloo said,

    July 30, 2007 at 1:36 am

    Thank you to everyone that commented. It turned out to be a fun post.

    Jude, I’m happy to have helped bring soft and kind memories up. You have certainly shared much beauty with me in the making of your quilt, “Listen to the river”.Truly wonderful..
    Go see it!! Yes now!!

    Kim…too funny now I have Elmo’s world in my head! LOL

    Yes Darlene, he DOES have a sweet tooth…I wonder where he got that from?

  7. Andrea said,

    July 31, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    That is an amazing little haul for $1.32. It does look like a photo from one of those I Spy books.


Leave a Reply

