The kindness of (artistic) strangers

004.jpg

Remember this? I know it wasn’t that long ago that I posted about this artwork…but I have news……..

I wrote, that the name Rhett Johnson was at the bottom of the piece, and wanted to research when the piece had been made. Well, I have discovered it’s origins. I did what I probably should have done in the first place and I googled “Rhett Johnson”.

Lo, and behold…I found a real live working Sculptor!……with his own website…..  

 www.rhettjohnson.com

  and his wife is an artist too! You can see her website at-

www.Diddy-Wa-Diddy.com 

Talk about cool!! Two artists living in the same house, getting to make art ALL day long!!  Okay…I’m sure they have to do laundry and mow the lawn…but still….way fantastico!

Anyway, I wrote them to find out if it was okay to post about Rhett’s art, and Rhett’s wife, Kelly Buntin Johnson, wrote back saying that it was just fine to post about the piece. She also said thank you for mentioning his name AND even complimented, “My Grandfather’s blanket stitch”. I was so impressed by this simple kindness and generousity of spirit. She also mentioned that Rhett had other art to look at in my general vicinity, that I might want to check out….so here it is….

pics-from-cam-151.jpg

Flying chickens like these always make me want to buy fresh produce….so I had to show you more and tell you how really nice these artists are.

Ooops! Don’t know how I did that..LOL…..but my computer wants it to stay that way….

 Also another cool artist tale. I wrote Mesababes of Etsy to make sure it was okay to post about her beautiful quilt….silly me…after I posted it….still figuring out the rules of blogging…

wool-quilt-recycled.jpg 

She also gave me a green light and said thank you for the compliment. She said that she had put quilting aside to work on mudbuilding and adobe work!!!! Okay….I’m sure it’s not fun all the time…and you get hot and sweaty…but to be in the land of Georgia O’Keefe,  doing something as full of history as that!!   

Wow, is all I gotta say!

Thank you, to all these artists that so freely give of themselves and share so generously.

6 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    July 24, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    What amazing artwork!! Such fun images! :o)

  2. July 26, 2007 at 10:22 am

    that looks like very cool artists…. ive always wanted to learn how to sculpt with metal… soldering … im scared of it… i’ll get burned … i was lucy in another life!
    sheri

  3. laneyloo said,

    July 27, 2007 at 1:30 am

    I know what you mean Sheri, I’d like to learn too…but I’m kind of a clutz…and might either chop something off (body part) or weld something not meant to be welded!

  4. Mary said,

    July 28, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    the quilt is divine!

  5. Michelle said,

    July 29, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    I’d love to have something like that top piece in my kitchen. 🙂 Thanks for the links.

  6. December 27, 2007 at 6:24 am

    Does Mesababes of Etsy have a website that shows other work?

    Jason
    http://www.sichel-embroidery.com


Leave a Reply

