Lists, Lists and more lists…also Pay it Forward

I’ve been blog hopping and noticing lists everywhere and it got me to thinking about a few lists I’ve known about and created. When I was in Highschool, we had an inspirational speaker come to talk with the student body. We all piled into the auditorium to watch a slide show and hear John Goddard speak. He seemed to me to be a humble, unassuming man, yet very awe inspiring. I sat through that lecture just amazed. Here was a man that at 15 had sat down and written out 127 goals to complete before he died. Through the years after hearing his story, I would periodically check the library and bookstore to see if he had written about his life’s goals and the list. I discovered that he had written a book about traveling the Nile River. I purchased that, but was dissappointed that there was nothing out there about the goal setting program and process he had set for himself…Well….I’m happy to say, that while doing a little research( googled his name…). I came up with his website..Yeah!, so if you want to learn more about his list and accomplishments here it is.     

www.johngoddard.info/life_list.htm 

I have through out my life made a few list, and truthfully should make some more, so that I can be more focused. My mom is a great list maker,(and believer in positive thought and action), and I always admired that most of the things on her daily to do lists got accomplished… I once made a list of qualities I would like in a mate and ….I wrinkled my nose a few times and poof…….they materialized into my hubby. Smile!! I truly believe lists and goals work, it just takes all those tiny steps..and sometimes huge leaps…so here are  a few tiny steps to get my crafty tush in gear. I found a great craftswap at Maddy’s Glass House and would like to try it, on my own little blog.

Here’s how it works- 

I will send a handmade gift to the first 3 people who leave a comment on my blog requesting to join this PIF exchange. I don’t know what that gift will be yet and you may not receive it tomorrow or next week… LOL… but you will receive it within 365 days, that is my promise! The only thing you have to do in return is pay it forward by making the same promise on your blog.

I am excited…..this will be my first “craftswap”.

6 Comments

  1. Tracy said,

    July 13, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    I would love to be on your gift list! Looks like I’m the first one here! In turn I will PIF at my blog during the weekend. This is fun! I’ve not been in a blog swap yet either, so I’m excited too. I’ve always been a list maker…If I don’t write it down, I’ll forget–LOL! But lists help me keep track of what to do, where to go, what to make, etc. They keep me focused, inspired. John Goggard–very interesting! Wishing you & yours a Happy Weekend! :o)

  2. laneyloo said,

    July 13, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Tracy, thank you so much for signing up and for your wonderful spirit.

  3. Maddy said,

    July 13, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    Hi Tracy, I just wanted to pop by and say g’day. Thank you for joining the PIF, good luck with yours.

    I have a book called Chicken Soup for the Soul and one of the chapters refers to the list John Goddard wrote. I’ve now given the book and the list to Nicholas, my 12 year old, he was amazed at John’s achievements and has now made his own list.

    Have a great weekend.

  4. laneyloo said,

    July 13, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Wow Maddy, Good for your son, that is an ambitious 12 year old. You have obviosly done a good job parenting.

    Thanks for opening the swap up on your blog.. I have already started creating a gift. I just needed a little motivation to get crafty.

  5. Darlene Cornett said,

    July 20, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    I was on your gift list years ago. I still have that precious gift, your friendship. I cherish the walks and talks we used to go on, around the orange groves, as we exercised our minds and legs toward wellbeing. That was in Terra Bella, beautiful land in what was for me terrible times, save for your loving presence.

  6. laneyloo said,

    July 20, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Oh sweet Darlene,

    God truly smiled upon us when he/she created our chance meeting. I’m so glad you put on your walking shoes that day and decided to join me..it almost makes me cry to think of how lucky/blessed I am that you are my friend.


Leave a Reply

