Good Eats and good friends

Spent the day swimming, playing and eating. My friend Therly can COOK.  She made steak, with sweet rice and fried plantains.001.jpg We garnished with salsa and guacamole. Yummy! Therly hails from Brooklyn, with a funny Brooklyn accent. I really like listening to her talk. It’s like a trip to Brooklyn in my very own kitchen. Her parents are from Honduras and she has LOTS of stories. LOL, we were looking through an old Architectual Digest. She found some awesome homes in the estates for sale..I never even look in that section. It was an eye opener. There are some HUGE bathtubs in the world.

002.jpg Therly in her kitchen, ready to make the rice. I promised to teach her how to make Mexican rice and she taught me how to make sweet rice with corn…sorry no pictures, we were in a rush to eat everything! I realized as I post this, we hadn’t taken pictures of the finished meal.

008.jpg 

Playing on the swing after dinner, watching Lightning bugs…no fair that only the males get to fly and light up! We had a fun day. Thank you Therly for an awesome dinner and your friendship.

1 Comment

  1. Tracy said,

    July 8, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    Sounds like a delicious gathering! Would you share your Mexican rice recipe with us? My sister used to make some based on a recipe from a co-work. It was so good. I’d love to learn how to make it for my DH. Lightening bug…we don’t have them here in Norway. I miss them…I’m originally from the US, from PA. I miss the sight of lightening bugs flashing lights in between the rows of corn fields…


Leave a Reply

